Discussion with Ato Sileshi Tilahun, an official of the newly formed Hibir Party

Melat Mulugeta

On May 14, 2019, five Ethiopian political parties i.e. Ethiopian Renaissance Democratic Organization, Ethiopian National Transitional Council, Ethiopian people’s Movement, Omo People’s Democratic Union, and South Ethiopia Green Stars Coalition signed an agreement to form a national party named Hibir Ethiopia Democratic party.  The parties officially merged and created the new party on May 16, 2019. This merger followed after the recently seven other political parties announced merger to form a single opposition party which they named as Ethiopian Citizens Social Justice Party. Ato Sileshi Tilahun, an executive committee member of Hibir, sat down with Mereja TV to discuss the newly formed party.