Ethiopia’s tenure as non-permanent UNSC member ends

Ethiopia’s tenure as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) has come to an end.

Addis Ababa got the position after a majority of UN member states voted for the East African powerhouse in 2017.

Ethiopia made several strides during its two-year term as a member of the council. This was the country’s third tenure at the UNSC.

Additional reporting from APA:

Ethiopia’s two-year term as a non-permanent membership of the United Nation Security Council (UNSC) came to an end on Monday, 31 December 2018.

Ethiopia became a non-permanent member of the Security Council on 1 January 2017 after 185 of the 190 UN member states voted in favour of its membership.

During its two-year term, Ethiopia tried to be the voice of reason, calling for unity and consensus in responding to some of the most difficult and complex peace and security challenges of our time.

It contributed constructively to the search for peaceful resolution of conflicts and crisis situations through political dialogue and negotiations in the Horn of Africa and elsewhere.

Ethiopia’s two-year term was consistently proactive in the Horn, including in the UNISFA, UNAMID, the lifting of sanctions on Eritrea, in AMISOM in Somalia and in South Sudan.

It has made significant diplomatic efforts in Ethio-Eritrea rapprochement, and has been able to showcase a grandeur reputation as a major pillar in the continent’s peace and security architecture.

Ethiopia has represented Africa at the United Nations Security Council three times, including in 2017/18.

Ethiopia is one of the founders of the League of Nations founded in 10 January 1920, which later became the United Nations.